I’m going to go on the assumption that by now everyone has started on the assigned  book. In my option, this is by far the hardest book for me to read. The author writes very unbiased and gives the complete story from every possible angle. It’s not hard in that manner. It’s hard because of the fact this woman actually existed and the problems the author describes is in such graphic detail. I feel like I’m right there beside the bed with Henerietta as she passes, and in the lab with Dr. Guy as he loses control of “his” HeLa cells. I find myself putting off reading it not because I am lazy or just don’t to do what I’m told, but because I don’t want to feel anymore heartache with and for this family. I can’t help but to put myself in each characters place and wondering how they coped with what happened. Oh! And her husband’s behavior after she died was HORRIFIC! Who sits by and watches as one of his lovers/roommates/dead wife’s enemy beats and horribly abuses these children? It makes me wonder if Day is in complete denial or if he ever gave a damn about his wife/cousin. Day almost acts like he has checked out and doesn’t care.

One point that made me feel a bit more optimistic about the future read of this book, was when Deborah’s cousin actually sat down and talked to her about being a strong woman. She told her to kick, scream, and fight if anybody tried to touch or rape her. It shows what kind of “family” she was dealing with.

I understand why this book would be a great read for people in the south and to illustrate just how much we know or don’t know about histories medical achievements. However, this is definitely a book that I would probably never read if not assigned. It hurts my heart to know things like that happened. I know that’s a naive statement but being naive and gullible makes me feel better than to know how horrible life can be.

-Me